This Years Astronomical Events

A listing of some of the main astronomical events along with links for more information.

 

Apparent Planet Size Range for 2019

 

Email me if you would like to be added to the Astronomy Events mailing list jtyweb2017@ArtCentrics.com Make sure to have Astronomy Mailing List in the title.

 

Note: The dates and times provided below are for Phoenix, Arizona.  You may need to make appropriate time adjustments based on where you live.

Download this table by selecting the icon below.

Last Updated: 2018.11.25

 

Date

Event

Images

Equipment

Reference

Comments

2018.12.14 (Fri-AM)

Geminids Meteor Shower

 

None

TimeAndDate.com

Moon 41% illuminated

MoonRise =  2:31AM

Peak Time: 5 AM

Peak Rate (ZHR) = 120/hr

Velocity: 36km/s

Center: RA=07h 28m DEC=33

2018.12.12 - 2018.12.18

Comet 46P/Wirtanen

- Chart

C11 Hyperstar

Comet Watch

The Sky

Projected to reach peak brightness of 3mag

Close to Pleiades 12/16

2019.01.03 (Thurs-PM)

Quadrantids Shower

 

None

TimeAndDate.com

Moon -5% illuminated

MoonRise =  5:22 AM

Peak Time: 1 PM

Peak Rate (ZHR) = 120/hr

Velocity: 43km/s

Center: RA=15h 20m DEC=+49

2019.01.05 (Sat)

New Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.01.20 (Sun-PM)

Total Lunar Eclipse

 

None

Observers Handbook

TimeAndDate.com

Begin: 08:33:55 PM

End: 11:50:42 PM

Begin Alt: 087 +34

End Alt: 136, +72

2019.01.21 (Mon)

Full Moon

 

None

 

`

2019.01.31 (Thurs-AM)

Venus & Moon

 

C11 Hyperstar

 

Daylight Event (11 am)

2019.02.04 (Mon)

New Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.02.17 (Sun-PM)

Moon & M44

 

C11 Hyperstar

 

9 pm

2019.02.19 (Tues)

Full Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.03.01 (Fri-AM)

Moon & Saturn

 

C11 Hyperstar

 

Daylight Event (7 am)

2019.03.06 (Wed)

New Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.03.20 (Wed)

Full Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.03.25 (Mon-AM)

Jupiter: Double Transit

 

Telescope

 

01:06am

2019.03.29 (Fri-AM)

Moon & Pluto

 

C11-Primary Focus

 

05:00am

2019.04.05 (Fri)

New Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.04.19 (Fri)

Full Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.04.23 (Tues-AM)

Moon and Jupiter

 

Hyperstar

 

07:00am

2019.04.25 (Thurs-AM)

Moon and Saturn

 

C11 Hyperstar

 

07:00am

2019.05.04 (Sat)

New Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.05.06 (Mon-AM)

n-Aquariids Shower

 

 

TimeAndDate.com

Moon 2% illuminated

MoonRise =  6:20AM

Peak Time: 1 AM

Peak Rate (ZHR) = 60/hr

Velocity: 66km/s

Center: RA=22h 30m DEC=-2

2019.05.18 (Sat)

Full Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.06.03 (Mon)

New Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.06.16 (Sun)

Jupiter at Opposition

 

C11-Primary Focus

 

Best time of year for imaging this object

2019.06.17 (Mon)

Full Moon

 

None

 

 

2009.06.18 (Tues-AM)

Mercury and Mars

 

C11-Primary Focus

 

7:30am

2019.07.02 (Tues)

New Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.07.09 (Tues)

Saturn at Opposition

 

C11-Primary Focus

 

Best time of year for imaging this object

2019.07.16 Tues)

Full Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.07.15 (Mon-PM)

Moon and Saturn

 

C11 Hyperstar

 

Midnight 11pm - 1am

2019.08.01 (Thurs)

New Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.08.15 (Thurs)

Full Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.08.30 (Fri)

New Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.09.08 (Sun)

Neptune at Opposition

 

C11-Primary Focus

 

Best time of year for imaging this object

2019.09.14 (Sat)

Full Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.09.28 (Sat)

New Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.10.08 (Sun)

Uranus at Opposition

 

C11-Primary Focus

 

Best time of year for imaging this object

2019.10.13 (Sun)

Full Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.10.28 (Mon)

New Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.11.11 (Mon)

Mercury Transit Sun

 

Telescope

TimeAndDate.com

Sunrise to 11:04am

2019.11.12 (Tues)

Full Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.11.26 (Tues)

New Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.12.12 (Thurs)

Full Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.12.26 (Thurs)

New Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.12.28 (Sat-PM)

Moon and Venus

 

C11 Hyperstar

 

7pm

 

 

 

Astronomy

Home