This Years Astronomical Events

A listing of some of the main astronomical events along with links for more information.

 

Apparent Planet Size Range

 

Email me if you would like to be added to the Astronomy Events mailing list jtyweb2020@ArtCentrics.com Make sure to have Astronomy Mailing List in the title.

 

Note: The dates and times provided below are for Phoenix, Arizona.  You may need to make appropriate time adjustments based on where you live.

Download this table by selecting the icon below.

Last Updated: 2019.11.24

 

Date

Event

Images

Equipment

Reference

Comments

2019.11.12 (Tues)

Full Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.11.26 (Tues)

New Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.12.12 (Thurs)

Full Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.12.26 (Thurs)

New Moon

 

None

 

 

2019.12.28 (Sat-PM)

Moon and Venus

C11 Hyperstar

 

7pm

 

 

 

 

 

 

2020.01.04 (Sat)

Quadrantid Meteor Shower

 

 

TimeAndDate.com

Peak=2am  Local ZHR= 120

2020.01.10 (Fri)

Full Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.01.24 (Fri)

New Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.01.27 (Mon)

Venus & Neptune

C11-HD | PF

 

Best Time= 7pm Alt =23

2020.02.09 (Sun)

Full Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.02.18 (Tue)

Mars & Moon Occultation

C11-HD | PF

 

Time 4:20am-5:40am

2020.02.23 (Sun)

New Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.03.09 (Mon)

Full Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.03.18 (Wed)

Jupiter, Mars, Sat, Pluto, Moon

C11-HD | HS

Star Atlas

All grouped in the same area in am hours (4am best time for photo)

2020.03.20 (Fri)

Jupiter, Mars, Pluto Close

C11-HD | HS

 

Best Time 4:305:10am

2020.03.24 (Tue)

New Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.03.31 (Tue)

Saturn, Mars, M-75 Close

C11-HD | HS

 

Best Time 4:00-5:00am

2020.04.07 (Tue)

Full Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.04.22 (Wed)

New Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.05.07 (Thu)

Full Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.05.22 (Fri)

New Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.05.28 (Thu)

Jupiter Double Transit

C11-HD | PF

 

1:50am-2:50am

2020.06.04 (Thu)

Jupiter Double Transit

C11-HD | PF

 

4:20am-6:45am

2020.06.05 (Fri)

Full Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.06.20 (Sat)

New Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.06.20 (Sat)

Saturn at Opposition

C11-HD | PF

 

Best time of year for imaging Saturn

2020.07.04 (Sat)

Full Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.07.14 (Tue)

Jupiter at Opposition

C11-HD | PF

 

Best time of year for imaging Jupiter

2020.07.20 (Mon)

New Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.07.29 (Wed)

S δ-Aquarlids

 

 

 

Peak=3am Local ZHR=126

2020.08.03 (Mon)

Full Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.08.14 (Fri)

Jupiter Double Transit

C11-HD | PF

 

9:05pm-10:50pm

2020.08.18 (Tue)

New Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.08.21 (Fri)

Jupiter Double Transit

C11-HD | PF

 

11:30pm-01:20am

2020.09.01 (Tue)

Full Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.09.11 (Fri)

Neptune at Opposition

C11-HD | PF

 

Best time of year for imaging Neptune

2020.09.17 (Thu)

New Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.10.01 (Thu)

Full Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.10.06 (Tues)

Mars at Opposition

C11-HD | PF

 

Best time of year for imaging Mars, Mars closest for year

2020.10.16 (Fri)

New Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.10.31 (Sat)

Full Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.11.14 (Sat)

New Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.11.30 (Mon)

Full Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.12.12 (Sat)

Venus & Moon Occultation

C11-HD | PF

 

02:00pm-03:30pm

2020.12.14 (Mon)

New Moon

 

 

 

 

2020.12.21 (Mon)

Jupiter, Saturn Very close

C11-HD | FR

 

02:00pm-03:30pm

2020.12.29 (Tue)

Full Moon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Astronomy

Home